Skip to Main Content

Civics of Climate Science

Civics of Climate Science

Wed, January 20 4:00 PM - Wed, June 9 2021 5:30 PM
  • *Asynchronous work

    Dates and times on Asynchronous work are suggestions only, this work can be done at your convenience between Synchronous sessions.
    1/13/2021 8:50 AM   Jane Schuyleman  

Presenters

  • Anne Stewart
  • Carissa Haug

Description

As a team of Middle School Science/Social Studies teachers you will create an openly licensed (OER) unit that builds student understanding on how local communities have been impacted by climate science. These inquiry-based units will combine the NGSS performance expectations with the Washington State social studies standards to explore the relationship between humans and their environment. 


Your participation will involve professional development around the topics of climate science and Washington State civics/economics/geography standards.  As a team, collaborating with other teachers from our region, you will then develop/adapt an inquiry unit that integrates science and social studies.  Completed units will be uploaded on the OERCommons Washington Hub for use by all teachers as a fully open educational resource. 

Dates

  • Wed, January 20 2021
    4:00 PM - 5:30 PM
    Zoom link
  • Mon, February 1 2021
    8:00 AM - 11:00 AM
    Canvas
  • Mon, February 8 2021
    4:00 PM - 5:30 PM
    Zoom link
  • Wed, February 17 2021
    3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
    Zoom link
  • Mon, March 1 2021
    8:00 AM - 11:00 AM
    Canvas
  • Mon, March 8 2021
    4:00 PM - 5:30 PM
    Zoom link
  • Wed, March 17 2021
    3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
    Zoom link
  • Mon, March 29 2021
    8:00 AM - 11:00 AM
    Canvas
  • Mon, April 12 2021
    4:00 PM - 5:30 PM
    Zoom link
  • Wed, April 21 2021
    3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
    Zoom link
  • Mon, May 3 2021
    8:00 AM - 11:00 AM
    Canvas
  • Mon, May 10 2021
    4:00 PM - 5:30 PM
    Zoom link
  • Wed, May 19 2021
    4:00 PM - 5:30 PM
    Zoom link
  • Wed, June 2 2021
    4:00 PM - 5:30 PM
    Zoom link
  • Wed, June 9 2021
    4:00 PM - 5:30 PM
    Zoom link

Registration

Event # 110956

Price
Free
Registered
5 / 30
Registration Ends
Wednesday Jan 20, 2021 4:00 PM
Registration is now closed.

Professional Hours

Clock Hour Number: WEE0221
30.00 Clock Hours